Syllabus draft [PDF]

Syllabus

1  What is Calculus?                         Jan 27 Mon
2  Functions                                 Jan 29 Wed
3  Limits                                    Jan 31 Fri

4  Continuity                                Feb  3 Mon
5  Intermediate value theorem                Feb  5 Wed
6  A fundamental theorem                     Feb  7 Fri

7  Rate of Change                            Feb 10 Mon
8  Derivative as a function                  Feb 12 Wed
9  Product and Quotient rule                 Feb 14 Fri

   Presidents day                            Feb 17 Mon
10 Chain rule                                Feb 19 Mon
11 Extrema                                   Feb 21 Wed

12 Global extrema                            Feb 24 Wed
13 Hopital rule                              Feb 26 Fri
14 Newton method                             Mar 28 Fri

15 Review                                    Mar  2 Mon
16 First midterm                             Mar  4 Wed
17 Catastrophes                              Mar  6 Fri

18 Definite integrals                        Mar  9 Mon
19 The fundamental theorem                   Mar 11 Wed
20 Anti-derivatives                          Mar 13 Fri

   Spring break: Mar 14- Mar 22

21 Computing areas                           Mar 23 Mon
22 Computing volumes                         Mar 25 Wed
23 Improper integrals and applications       Mar 27 Fri

24 Applications of integration               Mar 30 Mon
25 Substitution                              Apr  1 Wed
26 Integration by parts                      Apr  3 Fri

24 Review for second midterm                 Apr  6 Mon
25 Second midterm                            Apr  8 Wed
29 Numerical integration                     Apr 10 Fri

30 Partial fractions                         Apr 13 Mon
31 Trig substitutions                        Apr 15 Wed
32 Calculus and statistics                   Apr 17 Fri

33 Calculus and economics                    Apr 20 Mon
34 Calculus and computing                    Apr 22 Wed
35 Calculus and music                        Apr 24 Fri

36 Calculus and data                         Apr 27 Mon
37 Review                                    Apr 29 Wed